Ningo Gikinonwin: Ojibwe Four Seasons Series

This series depicts the traditional hunting, fishing and gathering activities of each season as practiced by human inhabitants of North America before traders and settlers from Europe arrived. The series shows how these same traditional activities are practiced today by Native American descendants who live in the Great Lakes region. This intimate portrait features the Ojibwa (or Chippewa in English), who are the second largest tribe in North America today. Students will learn about the evolution and continuity of culture through the demonstration of seasonal traditions. Contrasts and similarities will be demonstrated between the old-time and present-day methods and tools.

Grade Level:
Teacher Resources: 
PDF icon Series Overview

Episodes and Teacher Resources